To Be Eligible For A Builders (Contractors) License . . . you must be 18 years old. You must pass both the "Business and Law" portion and the "Practice/Trade" portion of the state examination to qualify for a license. As of June 1, 2008 you must additionally complete 60 hours of approved classroom hours prior to being allowed to take the tests. Complete the "Michigan Builders License Course" as a supplement to the mandatory 60 hours requirement and we guarantee a passing score on both halves of the Michigan Residential Builders License exam, which qualifies you to apply for your license.
To Obtain Your License . . . you must FIRST pass both halves of the Michigan State Residential Builders License Examination.
The Examination Fee . . . for the Residential Builders License is $100.
The Michigan State Examination . . . is given several times a week (including Saturdays) in Southfield, Lansing, Grand Rapids, Gaylord and Marquette. You must register to take the examination two weeks in advance. Upon confirmation of registration, you can call to schedule your exam as little as two days in advance.
License Fees . . . Upon passing BOTH halves of the Michigan Residential Builders License, you may apply for your Michigan Builders License. The total additional costs for your initial license and fees is $105.00. This includes a one-time $15 application fee, a one-time $50 Construction Lien Recovery Fund fee, and $40 for the first annual license fee. After receiving your initial Builders License it only costs $40 annually in renewal fees to maintain your license.